National Commission for the
Certification of Crane Operators
Committed to Quality, Integrity, and Fairness in Testing since 1995


Service Truck Crane Operator

Certification Overview

PROGRAM DESCRIPTIONCCO Certified Service Truck-150x

The CCO Service Truck Crane Operator certification (STC) is a subcategory of the CCO Telescopic Boom—Fixed Cab (TSS) certification and was developed specifically for the industries that use these smaller machines.

Service truck cranes are identified by their telescopic boom, where the base and mast structure is not integral to the stabilizer/outrigger system. Lifting is typically accomplished via a winch (electric or hydraulic) and its functions (rotation, elevation, telescoping) are either powered or manual. These machines tend to have relatively shorter boom lengths (10–35 ft) and lower capacities (1–7 Tons) as compared to other Telescopic Boom—Fixed Cab machines (e.g., Boom Trucks, Carry Deck cranes). Additionally, operations are usually conducted by the use of radio remote or pendant control with the operator standing on the ground following the load. The illustration below shows the components and terminology typically associated with service truck cranes (click on image for larger version; download print-quality PDF).

Service Truck Crane components

Please note that the CCO Telescopic Boom—Fixed Cab Operator (TSS) certification also covers service truck cranes. Operators of service truck cranes who currently possess a TSS certification are not required to also posses the Service Truck Crane Operator certification. The reverse is not true, however. STC certification is intended only for operators of service truck cranes and not for those who operate larger Telescopic Boom—Fixed Cab cranes. To be certified to operate all TSS cranes, candidates must achieve the full TSS certification (Core + TSS specialty written + TSS practical).


Visit How to Test for instructions for applying for and taking CCO Written and Practical Exams; visit How to Recertify for instructions on recertification.

Complete instructions, exam contents, and candidate applications are also contained in the Candidate Handbook for each program.


Requirements for certification include the following:

  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • Comply with NCCCO’s Substance Abuse Policy
  • Pass the STC Written Examination
  • Pass the STC Practical Examination
  • Comply with the NCCCO Code of Ethics


The following policies apply to all CCO certification programs:

These policies are also covered in the Candidate Handbooks for each program.


The Service Truck Crane Operator Written Examination consists of a single comprehensive exam with 70 questions. Candidates are allowed 90 minutes to complete the exam. Please note that candidates for the Service Truck Crane Operator program are not required to take the Mobile Crane Operator Core Exam.

CCO has three options for taking written exams: Online Proctored Testing (OPT)Test Center Testing (TCT), and Event Online Testing (EOT)Decide which option is best for you.

Candidate results are reported as a pass/fail status. For failed written exams, the score reports include a strength and weakness summary by content domain.


The Service Truck Crane Operator Practical Exam demonstrates crane operation proficiency. It consists of five main tasks that increase progressively in the skill level tested. Skills tested are: inspecting the equipment, hoisting, booming, swinging, following hand signals, and combination (multifunction) operations. Crane operation with load and without load is required.

Both the practical rxamination and the scoring system have been validated and verified by NCCCO’s pilot testing program.


Candidates must pass both the STC Written and Practical Exams within twelve months of each other. Candidates may take their Written and Practical Exams in either order.

Candidates for certification or recertification may petition for an extension of NCCCO’s standard timeline(s). NCCCO staff shall have the discretion to make the initial determination of whether a requested extension should be granted. Petitions for an extension of time are generally denied absent a showing of extraordinary circumstances. Denials of such petitions may be appealed to the Appeals Committee.


Certified operators receive a laminated photo ID card at no cost when they certify for the first time, add a designation, or complete the requirements for recertification. 

Please note that all TSS-certified operators will also receive the STC certification designation because Service Truck cranes are a subcategory of Telescopic Boom—Fixed Cab cranes. Click here for additional information.

Replacement cards may be obtained from NCCCO at a cost of $25 and ordered online.

Certification cards remain the property of NCCCO, are not transferable, and must be returned to NCCCO upon demand.


NCCCO certification is valid for five years. Candidates who can attest to at least 500 hours of crane-related experience during their period of certification do not need to take the Practical Exam to recertify. Crane-related experience is defined as: operating, maintaining, inspecting, or training on cranes.

Recertification candidates must complete all recertification requirements during the 12 months prior to their certification’s expiration date. There is no grace period after their certification expires. Candidates whose certification has lapsed must take both the regular Written and Practical Examinations again to be certified again.

Get complete instructions on How to Recertify.