Subscribe to our news mailing list to keep up with NCCCO News and Industry Headline.


Service Truck Crane Operator

Certification Policies


The NCCCO Service Truck Crane Operator certification (STC) is a subcategory of the CCO Telescopic Boom—Fixed Cab certification (TSS) and was developed specifically for the industries that use these smaller machines.

Service truck cranes are identified by their telescopic boom, where the base and mast structure is not integral to the stabilizer/outrigger system. Lifting is typically accomplished via a winch (electric or hydraulic) and its functions (rotation, elevation, telescoping) are either powered or manual. These machines tend to have relatively shorter boom lengths (10–35 ft) and lower capacities (1–7 Tons) as compared to other Telescopic Boom—Fixed Cab machines (e.g., Boom Trucks, Carry Deck cranes). Additionally, operations are usually conducted by the use of radio remote or pendant control with the operator standing on the ground following the load.

Please note that the NCCCO Telescopic Boom—Fixed Cab certification (TSS) covers service truck cranes, as well as the more traditional cranes within the Telescopic Boom—Fixed Cab designation. Operators of service truck cranes who currently possess a TSS certification are not required to also posses the Service Truck Crane certification. The reverse is not true, however. STC certification is intended only for operators of service truck cranes and not for those who operate larger Telescopic Boom—Fixed Cab cranes. To be certified to operate all TSS cranes, candidates must achieve the full TSS certification (Core + TSS specialty written + TSS practical).


Requirements for certification include the following:

  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • Meet medical requirements
  • Comply with NCCCO’s Substance Abuse Policy
  • Pass the STC Written Examination
  • Pass the STC Practical Examination
  • Comply with the NCCCO Code of Ethics


NCCCO certification exams are designed for operators who are trained and who currently work in crane operation.


Certified service truck crane operators must continue to meet the same medical requirements as CCO-certified mobile crane operators.

Means of compliance with ASME physical requirements include but are not limited to the following:

  • NCCCO Physical Examination Form (valid for three years)
  • A current DOT (Department of Transportation) Medical Examiner's Certificate (valid for two years)


The Service Truck Crane Operator Written Examination consists of a single comprehensive exam with 70 questions. Candidates are allowed 90 minutes to complete the exam. Please note that candidates for the Service Truck Crane Operator program are not required to take the Mobile Crane Operator Core Exam.


The Service Truck Crane Operator Practical Exam demonstrates crane operation proficiency. It consists of five main tasks that increase progressively in the skill level tested. Skills tested are: inspecting the equipment, hoisting, booming, swinging, following hand signals, and combination (multifunction) operations. Crane operation with load and without load is required.


Candidates must pass both the STC Written and Practical Exams within twelve months of each other. Candidates may take their Written and Practical Exams in either order.


NCCCO certification is valid for five years. Recertification candidates must complete all recertification requirements during the 12 months prior to their certification’s expiration date. This includes:

Candidates who can attest to at least 1,000 hours crane-related experience during their period of certification do not need to take the Practical Exam to recertify. Crane-related experience is defined as: operating, maintaining, inspecting, or training on cranes.

Recertification candidates who need to take the Practical Exam for any reason, however, must do so before their certification expires. There is no grace period after their certification expires. Candidates whose certification has lapsed must take both the regular Written and Practical Examinations again to be certified again.

All candidates are allowed two attempts to pass their Recertification Exam(s) before their certification expires. Candidates who are unsuccessful after two attempts must take and pass the regular Service Truck Crane Written Exam.

Recertification candidates may take their Recertification Written Examinations up to one year prior to their certification’s date of expiration. Regardless of the date of the Recertification Examination within that one-year period, the new five-year certification period begins from the date of expiration of the candidate’s initial certification.

NOTE: Candidates who recertify more than 12 months prior to their expiration date will have their new certification period begin immediately, not from the end of their current certification period.


NCCCO-certified service truck crane operators are required to follow the same Code of Ethics as all other NCCCO-certified operators.


NCCCO-certified service truck crane operators are subject to the same disciplinary policy as all other NCCCO-certified operators.


NCCCO-certified service truck crane operators are required to follow the same substance abuse policy as all other NCCCO-certified operators.


Certified operators receive a laminated photo ID card at no cost when they certify for the first time and when they complete the requirements for recertification. 

Please note that all TSS-certified operators will also receive the STC certification designation because Service Truck cranes are a subcategory of Telescopic Boom—Fixed Cab cranes. Click here for additional information.

Replacement cards, cards showing certification in an additional designation, or updated cards for candidates who retake and pass a designation they previously failed may be obtained from International Assessment Institute at a cost of $25. Cards may be ordered online or by contacting Jennifer at or 727-449-8525.


If you change your address, you must notify NCCCO as soon as possible. Failure to do so may cause you to miss important updates on the NCCCO program that could affect your certification.

Changes of address should be sent in writing via mail, email or fax to International Assessment Institute (IAI) using the Change of Address form. Forms may be mailed, faxed, or emailed to:

1960 Bayshore Blvd.
Dunedin, FL 34698

727-461-2746 fax